Town Clerk / Tax Collector

10:00 AM to noon and 1:00 PM to 5:00 PM 
Monday ,Wednesday & Friday (or by appointment.)

Nancy Moir

Office 607-295-7223
Fax 607-295-8224


The Town of Dansville, Steuben County, is seeking interested applicants to fill an unexpired term of Councilman. Submit a letter of interest to Nancy Moir, Town Clerk at 1487 Day Road, Arkport, NY 14807 or call (607)-295-7223 during normal business hours Deadline is 5:00pm on Wednesday, November 12, 2014. The board will review at the regular monthly meeting on November 13, 2014 and contact applicants for an interview.

Nancy L. Moir
Town Clerk

State of New York
Office of the State Comptroller

Facts about The Town of Dansville

Location: Steuben County
Population: 1,997 (2000 U.S. Census Bureau figures)
Area: 48.1 sq. miles
includes Wayland, Dansville and Arkport school districts

Office: 1487 Day Road (off County Road 46)

Historical overview: The town was formed along with the county in 1796,
and is one of the oldest towns in Steuben County.
However, the town was not officially settled until around 1804 by Daniel Faulkner.
The Town of Dansville was used to form in part or whole the Towns of Cohocton,
Howard (both in 1812), Wayland (1848) and Fremont (1854).
In 1822 part of the town including the Village of Dansville was annexed
to the Town of Sparta in Livingston County.
The hamlet of South Dansville is the primary community in the town.